Browser History- Keeping people at risk safe online

Last updated - 27 February 2018

Internet Explorer

Internet explorer

When InPrivate Browsing is on you will see this note in your address bar.

InPrivate Browsing

This helps stop them from storing data about your browsing time. It can store cookies, files, history and other data. Toolbars and extensions are switched off by default.

Browsers store some info to help improve your time on the web. When you use InPrivate Browsing, info like passwords, search history, and page history is deleted once you close the tab.

To open InPrivate Browsing sessions select the Internet Explorer icon on the taskbar, and select Start InPrivate Browsing. If you have already opened it select the Settings icon to the right side of the address bar. Doing so will give you a list of options, one of which reads Safety. Choosing this option presents another set of options, one of which is InPrivate Browsing. Clicking this option will open a new window showing private browsing which can be closed with one click.

Firefox

firefox

As you browse the web, Firefox keeps lots of information for you - like the sites you've been on. There may be times, however, when you don't want people with access to your computer to see this. Private Browsing allows you to browse the Internet without saving any information about which sites and pages you’ve visited.

There are two ways to open a new Private Window.

  • Open a new, blank Private Window
    Click the menu button and then click "New Private Window".
  • Open a link in a new Private Window
    Right-click on any link and choose "Open Link in New Private Window" from the context menu.

Safari

safari

When you use Private Browsing windows, Safari doesn’t save your browsing history. It also asks sites you visit not to track you.

To use Private Browsing: Choose File > New Private Window. A window that’s using Private Browsing has a dark Smart Search field with white text.

Chrome

Chrome

If you don’t want Chrome to save a record of what you do you can browse the web privately in Incognito mode.

The method for turning it on may vary depending on the PC you are using. The default method in Chrome is to click on the 3 dots to the extreme right side of the address bar. This will present a list of options, one of which is New Incognito Window. Clicking this will open a new window allowing private browsing, and can be closed with a click.

How Incognito mode works
Incognito mode opens a new window where you can browse in private. Chrome will not save the sites you visit. You can go between an Incognito window and any normal Chrome browsing windows you have open. You'll only be in Incognito mode when you're using the Incognito window.

Others can see some information
This mode only stops Chrome from saving your site visit activity. It won't stop other sources from seeing what sites you’ve visited. This includes:

  • Your service provider.
  • Your employer.
  • The websites you visit.

Downloads are saved to your computer
Chrome won’t save a record of the files you download in Incognito mode. However, the files will be saved to your computer’s folder, even after you close your tabs. You and anyone who uses your computer can see and open the files.